72andSunny Shames Celebrity Smokers for truth

By Patrick Coffee 

Have you ever noticed that a disproportionate number of celebrities happen to smoke in their spare time? That fact provides the motivation behind this new spot for truth (itself an offshoot of the national public health organization Legacy), created by 72andSunny in order to cast these “unpaid” Big Tobacco spokespeople as the very opposite of what we might call “role models.”

Many of the famous faces in the ad didn’t see it because they were too busy attending the Video Music Awards on which it aired (and, presumably, smoking).

That’s not to say that the people at truth don’t love Chris Brown as much as the prototypical “next guy” who does not happen to be Suge Knight.


Another spot created to explain the first below.

There’s a larger point to the campaign: while the candid celebrity pics drew attention, truth wants to encourage teens to use their examples as inspiration to “Finish It”, it being the precipitous drop in youth smoking rates and the behavior in general.

The argument here is that Brown, RPattz, Rihanna and their big-name friends have become the newest form of (free) advertising for that classic bad guy, Big Tobacco. truth, on the other hand, wants to turn anti-smoking teens into “brand advocates” on social by encouraging them to add a “Finish It” graphic to their avatars.

Here’s our favorite part:

Erase & Replace – sharable content which removes cigarettes from photos on social media, and encourages teens and young people to use their own creativity and sense of fun to replace cigarette-related images with other images.”

While we have to applaud truth’s efforts to reduce the number of young people who smoke, we do wonder whether they’ve read any of the e-cig trend pieces popping up in major papers. Here’s an unpaid spokesperson:


72andSunny Credits

Chief Creative Officer Glenn Cole

Group Creative Director Justin Hooper

Group Creative Director Mick DiMaria

Lead Designer Allbriton Robbins

Lead Writer Beau Unruh

Chief Strategy Officer Matt Jarvis

Group Strategy Director Matt Johnson

Sr. Strategist Ravi Khanna

Strategist Josh Hughes

Managing Director James Townsend

Group Brand Director Judson Whigham

Brand Director Kristine Soto

Brand Director Luke Lamson

Brand Coordinator Tracey Horwitz

Brand Coordinator Chelsea Gilroy

Chief Production Officer Tom Dunlap

Director of Film Production Sam Baerwald

Sr. Film Producer Calleen Colburn

Sr. Art Producer Sabrina Bajaj

Freelance Art Producer Denise Knickerbocker

Art Production Coordinator Brigitte Bishop

Business Affairs Director Michelle McKinney

Group Business Affairs Director Amy Jacobsen

Business Affairs Coordinator Amy Shah

Sr. Designer Geo Panch (Interactive)

Designer Sarah Herron (Interactive)

Writer Rebecca Ullman (Interactive)

Jr. Designer Jessica Robles (Interactive)

Jr. Writer Joseph Saroufim (Interactive)

Jr. Creative Technologist Emilio Canton (Interactive)

Director of Interactive Production Heather Wischmann (Interactive)

Interactive Executive Producer Daniel Laiblin (Interactive)

Sr. Interactive Producer Nick Boganwright (Interactive)

Sr. Interactive Producer Thomas Dawson (Interactive)

Analyst Seth Mills (Interactive)

Technical Lead James Fiszer (Interactive)

UX Design Director Melissa Bell (Interactive)

Sr. UX Designer Jessica Rudzewicz (Interactive)

Jr. UX Designer Andrew Lindley (Interactive)


Editorial: 72andSunny Studio

Sr. Editor Scott Culver


VFX: 72andSunny Studio

Telecine: MPC LA

Audio: LIME

Mixer Rohan Young

Music Credits: Finishers: “Revolusion” by Elliphant

Unpaid: “Throw It Down” by Dominique Young Unique

Response: “Triple Chrome Dipped” by Michna

Music Supervisor (Unpaid): Anne Litt


Art Production Credits (production partners)

Production Company: Joy Asbury Productions

Photographer Christian Weber

Producer Joy Asbury

Interactive Credits (production partners)

Production Company: B-Reel

Executive Producer/Partner Eva Mautino

Sr. Producer Kenna Takahashi

Creative Director Petter Westlund

Art Director Ian Bauer

Tech Director Eric Heaton