4A’s Board of Directors Names Sharon Napier Board Chair

By Kyle O'Brien 

The American Association of Advertising Agencies (4A’s) announced changes to its national board of directors—and new members include new board chair Sharon Napier and Vita Harris.

The membership-based U.S. trade association for the advertising and marketing communications industry, announced changes to its National Board of Directors.

The officers, who have been selected by the Board’s nominating committee, include C-Suite leaders from member agencies of all sizes and disciplines, who have demonstrated their commitment to serving the best interests of the 4A’s members across the marketing industry.


Napier, executive chair and founder of Partners + Napier, a Project Worldwide agency, has been named to a two-year term as 4A’s board chair, a post previously held by Barry Wacksman, chair and co-founder Proto, who remains on the board as past chair. Napier has been a director since 2005 and for the past four years has served as co-vice chair of the board. She was previously secretary-treasurer of the organization.

“I’ve always believed in the power of creativity to change the world—and the last two years have shown just how powerful agencies can be,” said Napier in a statement. “Together, we’ve turned every curveball into an opportunity to help our clients succeed. In this new role, I look forward to furthering the 4A’s mission as we enhance our value for members and drive the industry forward. My many years with the 4A’s as a board and agency member have taught me that when we work together as an industry, we are unstoppable.”

Harris, global chief strategy officer at FCB Global, has been named co-vice chair after joining the board in early 2021.

“I am honored to have been asked to serve our industry in this capacity—and I am looking forward to partnering alongside the 4A’s board to do so,” said Harris in a statement.

Abbey Klaassen, president, business leadership, East region at dentsu, has been re-elected for another one year term as co-vice chair after serving for the past two years in this role. Christine Fruechte, CEO of Colle McVoy, will continue to serve as secretary-treasurer.

The 4A’s welcomed new directors to the board, including Christoph Becker, global chair of integration at Edelman and Joe Maglio, CEO, McKinney as members-at-large, and Aaron Walton, CEO and founder of Walton Isaacson as a member in the Western region.

“I’m thrilled to partner more closely with Sharon and Vita in their new roles and to continue collaborating with Abbey, Christine and Barry as officers of the executive committee of the board,” said 4A’s president and CEO Marla Kaplowitz in a statement. “We’re also excited to welcome Christoph, Joe and Aaron—an impressive group of industry leaders who are passionate advocates for the industry. I look forward to working with our entire board of directors, as we continue our mission to enable members’ business transformation with what they need to compete—and address the critical challenges and opportunities facing our industry.”