The O. Henry Prize 2014 Winners Revealed

By Dianna Dilworth Comment

9780345803252Allison Alsup, Olivia Clare and Louise Erdrich are among winners of the 2014 O. Henry Prize, an award for the best short fiction published in the past year. The winning We’ve got the entire list of winners for you after the jump.

Editor Laura Furman choose the winners along with a panel of jurors including: Tash Aw, James Lasdun, and Joan Silber. The twenty stories will be edited together into a collection by Anchor Books, along with an introduction by Furman and essays from the three guest jurors. The book will be released on September 9, 2014.

The O. Henry Prize Winners 2014

Allison Alsup, “Old Houses” (New Orleans Review)

Chanelle Benz, “West of the Known” (The American Reader)

Laura van den Berg, “Opa-Locka” (The Southern Review)

David Bradley, “You Remember the Pin Mill” (

Olivia Clare, “Pétur” (Ecotone)

Stephen Dixon, “Talk” (The American Reader)

Halina Duraj, “Fatherland” (Harvard Review)

Louise Erdrich, “Nero” (The New Yorker)

Rebecca Hirsch Garcia, “A Golden Light” (The Threepenny Review)

Tessa Hadley, “Valentine” (The New Yorker)

Mark Haddon, “The Gun” (Granta)

Kristen Iskandrian, “The Inheritors” (Tin House)

Dylan Landis, “Trust” (Tin House)

Colleen Morrissey, “Good Faith” (The Cincinnati Review)

Chinelo Okparanta, “Fairness” (Subtropics)

Michael Parker, “Deep Eddy” (Southwest Review)

Kirstin Valdez Quade, “Nemecia” (

Maura Stanton, “Oh Shenandoah” (New England Review)

Robert Anthony Siegel, “The Right Imaginary Person” (Tin House)

William Trevor, “The Women” (The New Yorker)