R.L. Stine Wins Chicago Tribune YA Prize

By Dianna Dilworth Comment

R.L. Stine, author of the bestselling Goosebumps series, has won The Chicago Tribune’s 2016 Young Adult Literary Prize.

The Chicago Tribune Young Adult Literary Prize honors young adult authors that create works that inspire young readers and encourage literacy. Past winners have included: Lois Lowry, James Patterson, John Greene, Judy Blume, and LeVar Burton.

Stine will receive the prize at the Printers Row Lit Fest on June 11. “In making this award, the Tribune affirms its commitment to the vital importance of reading,” said Bruce Dold, publisher and editor-in-chief of The Chicago Tribune. “Goosebumps has inspired young readers around the world.”

“What a wonderful honor,” Stine said in a statement. “I’m so delighted to be in the company of such other fabulous authors.”