National Book Foundation Names 5 Under 35 Authors for 2013


By Jason Boog Comment

The National Book Foundation has revealed its “5 Under 35″ authors. For the first time, five women were picked for the prestigious award.

We’ve listed all five winners below, along with the name of the author who selected them. Here’s more from the release:

The 5 Under 35 program, now in its eighth year, honors five young fiction writers selected by past National Book Award Winners and Finalists. Since 2006, the program has introduced the next generation of writers, including Téa Obreht, Karen Russell, and Justin Torres. Supported by a generous donation from, the Foundation offers the 5 Under 35 authors a cash award of $1,000 each.

5 Under 35 Authors for 2013

Molly AntopolThe UnAmericans, (W.W. Norton & Company, February 2014)
Selected by Jesmyn Ward, National Book Award Winner in 2011 for Salvage the Bones
NoViolet BulawayoWe Need New Names, (Reagan Arthur Books/Little, Brown, 2013)
Selected by Junot Díaz, National Book Award Finalist in 2012 for This is How You Lose Her
Amanda CoplinThe Orchardist, (Harper, 2012)
Selected by Louise Erdrich, National Book Award Winner in 2012 for The Round House
Daisy HildyardHunters in the Snow, (Jonathan Cape, Random House UK, 2013)
Selected by Kevin Powers, National Book Award Finalist in 2012 for The Yellow Birds
Merritt TierceLove Me Back, (Doubleday, fall 2014)
Selected by Ben Fountain, National Book Award Finalist in 2012 for Billy Lynn’s Long Halftime Walk