National Book Award Winners for 2014

By Dianna Dilworth Comment

nationalbookawardPhil Klay has won the Fiction award for his book Redeployment from The Penguin Press/Penguin Group (USA).

Evan Osnos has won the Nonfiction award for Age of Ambition: Chasing Fortune, Truth, and Faith in the New China from Farrar, Straus and Giroux.

Louise Gluck won the Poetry award for Faithful and Virtuous Night from Farrar, Strauss and Giroux.

The Young People’s Literature award went to Jacqueline Woodson for Brown Girl Dreaming from Roaring Brook Press/Macmillan.

The National Book Award winners for 2014 were revealed tonight. If you want to read all the finalists, we’ve collected free samples of the finalists in all the categories below. Who was your favorite this year?

Links to Free Samples of the National Book Award Finalists for 2014

Fiction Finalists

Rabih AlameddineAn Unnecessary Woman

Anthony DoerrAll the Light We Cannot See

Phil KlayRedeployment

Emily St. John MandelStation Eleven

Marilynne RobinsonLila


Nonfiction finalists

Roz ChastCan’t We Talk About Something More Pleasant?

Anand GopalNo Good Men Among the Living: America, the Taliban, and the War through Afghan Eyes

John LahrTennessee Williams: Mad Pilgrimage of the Flesh

Evan OsnosAge of Ambition: Chasing Fortune, Truth, and Faith in the New China

Edward O. WilsonThe Meaning of Human Existence


Poetry Finalists

Louise GlückFaithful and Virtuous Night

Fanny HoweSecond Childhood

Maureen N. McLaneThis Blue

Fred MotenThe Feel Trio

Claudia RankineCitizen: An American Lyric


Young People’s Literature finalists

Eliot Schrefer, Threatened

Steve SheinkinThe Port Chicago 50: Disaster, Mutiny, and the Fight for Civil Rights

John Corey WhaleyNoggin

Deborah WilesRevolution: The Sixties Trilogy, Book Two

Jacqueline WoodsonBrown Girl Dreaming