Man Asian Literary Prize Longlist: Free Samples

By Jason Boog Comment

The Man Asian Literary Prize longlist was announced today. For your reading pleasure, we’ve collected links to free samples of the books on the prestigious list.

The shortlist will be revealed in January and the winner will be announced in March.

Here’s more: “The Man Asian Literary Prize was founded in 2007. It is an annual literary award given to the best novel by an Asian writer, either written in English or translated into English, and published in the previous calendar year … The winning author is awarded USD 30,000 and the translator (if any) USD 5,000. Submissions are invited through publishers based in any country.”

The Man Asian Literary Prize Longlist

The Wandering Falcon by Jamil Ahmad

The Good Muslim by Tahmima Anam

Rebirth by Jahnavi Barua (not yet available)

The Sly Company of People Who Care by Rahul Bhattacharya

The Colonel by Mahmoud Dowlatabadi (coming in 2012)

River of Smoke by Amitav Ghosh

1Q84 by Haruki Murakami

The Folded Earth by Anuradha Roy

Please Look After Mom by Kyung-Sook Shin

The Valley of Masks by Tarun J. Tejpal (not yet available)

Dream of Ding Village by Yan Lianke

The Lake by Banana Yoshimoto