Bonnie Jo Campbell, Brad Watson & Eula Biss Among 2011 Guggenheim Fellows

By Jason Boog Comment

Today the Guggenheim Board of Trustees announced 180 Guggenheim Fellowship winners picked from 3,000 different applicants.

Below, we’ve listed the fiction, poetry, general nonfiction, literary criticism, and translation winners. Follow this link to see the complete list.

Here’s more about the grants: “Guggenheim Fellowships are grants to selected individuals made for a minimum of six months and a maximum of twelve months. Since the purpose of the Guggenheim Fellowship program is to help provide Fellows with blocks of time in which they can work with as much creative freedom as possible, grants are made freely. No special conditions attach to them, and Fellows may spend their grant funds in any manner they deem necessary to their work. ”

Fiction fellows:

Bonnie Jo Campbell
Jonathan R. Dee
Christie Anne Hodgen
Clancy Martin
Valerie Martin
Karen Elizabeth Russell
David James Vann
Lara Vapnyar
Brad Watson

Poetry fellows:

Peter Campion
Claudia Emerson
Paul Guest
Kimberly Johnson
Eleanor Lerman
Maurice Walker Manning
D. A. Powell
Alicia Elsbeth (A. E.) Stallings
Matthew J. Zapruder
Cynthia Rebecca Zarin

General nonfiction fellows:

Eula Biss
Stephen Budiansky
Mary Cappello
John Philip D’Agata
Wil Haygood
Adina Hoffman
Ann Maret Jones
Richard A. Leo
Rosemary Mahoney
Tara McKelvey
Katherine Russell Rich
Patricia Volk
Tom Lee Wells

Literary Criticism fellows:
Grace S. Fong
Matthew Kirschenbaum
Bruce Robbins

Translation fellows:
Sachiko Murata
Bill Porter