2013 Guggenheim Fellows Revealed

By Jason Boog Comment

The John Simon Guggenheim Memorial Foundation has released its list of 2013 Fellows, and the list includes a number of literary winners.

Kiran Desai, Adam Johnson, Rachel Kushner, Ben Marcus, David Means, Terese Svoboda and Colson Whitehead were all named fiction fellows for 2013. The nonfiction fellows included: Joshua FoerJ. C. Hallman, Bill Hayes, Sylvia Nasar, Carlin Romano and David Rosenberg.

We’ve rounded up more literary winners below. Here’s more from the committee: “This year, after considering the recommendations of panels and juries consisting of hundreds of distinguished artists, scholars, and scientists, the Board of Trustees has granted Fellowships to 175 individuals.”

Poetry Fellows

L. S. Asekoff
Kate Daniels
Ross Gay
Major Jackson
Troy Jollimore
Benjamin Samuel Lerner
Cleopatra Mathis
Brenda Shaughnessy
Anne Waldman
Joshua Weiner

American Literature
Phillip Round

Susan Rotroff

Rahim Shayegan

English Literature
Julia Reinhard Lupton

Joanna Picciotto

European & Latin American Literature
Robin Miller

Literary Criticism
Kevin Ohi

Medieval & Renaissance Literature
Jerold C. Frakes

Karen Sullivan

Philip Boehm

Andrew Frisardi

Bill Johnston
Jennifer Homans

Thomas Travisano