Your 2011 TVNewser Bracket Champion Is…

By Alex Weprin 

March Madness is over, and UConn has emerged victorious. The UConn win also means that the 2011 TVNewser Bracket Challenge is over.

Ladies and gentlemen, your 2011 TVNewser March Madness Bracket Challenge winner: Bloomberg TV markets reporter Dominic Chu.

He won in commanding fashion, pulling in 89 points.


Chu, a former hedge fund trader, tells TVNewser:

“I’d like to thank TVNewser and all the Doctors of Bracketology out there in the Bloomberg TV newsroom…as well as Bloomberg Sports Analytics…it was a team effort…and thanks to the UCONN Huskies for making this whole thing possible…I totally forgive you for your performance during the regular season and the Big East Tournament…Thank You…Thank You!”

You can congratulate Chu on Twitter @The_Domino.

Second place went to CNBC “Mad Money” EP Regina Gilgan, who netted 74 points, and also bested nine of her CNBC colleagues.

Rounding out the top five: “Early Show” EP David Friedman with 60 points, CNBC’s Joe Kernen with 59 points, and “Early Show” weather anchor Marysol Castro with 58 points.

More notes, as well as the full rankings, after the jump.

Last year’s Bracket Challenge champion, “BBC World news America” EP Rome Hartman finished in the middle of the pack this year in a tie for 10th place. Rome, former champions are always welcome.

The two worst bracketologists this year? Your TVNewser editor and CNN’s Ed Henry.

Ed, we always have next year.

The final rankings:

Name   Points

Dominic Chu 89
Regina Gilgan 74
David Friedman 60
Joe Kernen 59
Marysol Castro 58
Becky Quick 55
John Melloy 54
Jon Scott 54
Sandra Smith 54
Gary Kaminsky 51
Jeff Glor 51
Michele Steele 51
Mitch Weitzner 51
Rome Hartman 51
Chris Wragge 50
Chris Sheridan 48
Connell McShane 48
Jon Banner 48
Ramona Schindelheim 47
Sanford Cannold 46
Shannon Bream 46
Matt Quayle 45
Alex Weprin 44
Ed Henry 43