TV News Chiefs and Anchors Meet with Donald Trump

By Chris Ariens Comment

Representatives from the six broadcast and cable TV news networks are meeting with Pres.-elect Donald Trump today. Insiders tell us the heads of ABC News, CNN, Fox News, NBC News and MSNBC will meet with the Trump at 1 p.m. ET at Trump Tower. We hear David Rhodes, president of CBS News will not be attending but other CBS Newsers will be there. Rhodes is traveling for work. Chris Isham, CBS’s Washington Bureau Chief, was there.

C-SPAN’s elevator cam at Trump Tower showed the arrival of CNN Worldwide president Jeff Zucker and anchor Wolf Blitzer, NBC News president Deborah Turness, Nightly News anchor Lester Holt, and Meet the Press moderator Chuck Todd, and MSNBC president Phil Griffin. From CBS, John DickersonCharlie Rose, Gayle King and Norah O’Donnell; and from ABC News, Martha RaddatzGeorge Stephanopoulos and David Muir. Also in attendance: ABC News president James Goldston and Fox News co-presidents Jack Abernethy and Bill Shine.


CNN president Jeff Zucker and MSNBC president Phil Griffin chat in the Trump Tower lobby as CBS News D.C. bureau chief, in blue jacket, speaks with other members of the media.


CBS’s John Dickerson and Charlie Rose arrive at Trump Tower.


Lester Holt arrives for the meeting with Pres.-elect Trump.


NBC’s Chuck Todd arrives.

More | 2:16 p.m. ET: The meeting appears to be ending as George Stephanopoulos was spotted in the lobby, departing.


ABC’s George Stephanopoulos departs Trump Tower.


MSNBC president Phil Griffin, CNN’s Wolf Blitzer and NBC’s Lester Holt depart Trump Tower.

The unprecedented gathering follows Trump’s public disdain for most of the media which was evident throughout the election. Beyond what he often considered unfair coverage, the pre-election polling and election day exit polls appeared to predict a Hillary Clinton win. The media contempt was expressed again this morning by Kellyanne Conway, Trump’s campaign manager, during an interview on CNN’s New Day.

(Photos: Howard Mortman/C-SPAN)