‘The View’ Is Inducted Into the Broadcasting & Cable Hall of Fame

By A.J. Katz 

Broadcasting & Cable and Multichannel News presented the 27th Annual Broadcasting & Cable Hall of Fame ceremony Monday night in New York, with Google serving as the presenting sponsor.

ABC’s The View was honored as part of this year’s class, and its stars, past and present, were in attendance at the event: Senior ep Hilary Estey McLoughlin, ep Brian Teta, co-hosts Sunny Hostin, Paula Faris, co-host/moderator Whoopi Goldberg, current and original co-host Joy Behar, original co-host Star Jones, co-host Sara Haines, co-host Meghan McCain, and B&C Hall of Fame chairman Bill McGorry.

Speaking of McCain, the program’s premiere telecast with its newest co-host last Monday drew 3.061 million viewers to stand as the show’s 2nd most-watched telecast in 7 months – since March 14, and behind only the telecast featuring guest Hilary Clinton (Sept. 13).

Legendary Noticiero Univision anchor María Elena Salinas was also inducted into the B&C Hall of Fame this year. Salinas, who was also honored by NAB earlier this year, is leaving Univision when her contract runs out at the end of the year. She has spent her entire journalism career at the network, dating back to 1981.

NBC Entertainment chairman Bob Greenblatt, and FX chief John Landgraf were also among the honorees.

CBS 2 New York anchor Maurice DuBois and NY PIX-11 anchor Marvin Scott co-emceed the event.

Past B&C Hall of Fame honorees include TV newsers Larry King, Ted Koppel, and Diane Sawyer, as well as Brian Roberts, Les Moonves, Alex Trebek, Robert Kraft and Oprah Winfrey.