The Biggest Names in Business Celebrate 20 Years of Squawk Box

By Chris Ariens 


David Faber, Andrew Ross Sorkin, Joe Kernen, Becky Quick, CNBC SVP Nik Deogun, CNBC chairman Mark Hoffman, Jim Cramer and Carl Quintanilla at the 20th anniversary party for Squawk Box.

The week of Squawk continues. Monday the long-running CNBC program rang the NYSE closing bell. Tomorrow there’s a special Throwback Thursday edition of the program and last night more than a hundred New York notables packed the Monkey Bar on Manhattan’s east side to celebrate the 20th anniversary of the CNBC morning show.

Squawk Box anchors Joe Kernen, Becky Quick and Andrew Ross Sorkin mingled with business and media elite including IAC chairman Barry Diller, Discovery CEO David Zaslav, Macy’s CEO Terry Lundgren, former Time Warner CEO Dick Parsons, CBS Corp. chairman Les Moonves, Home Depot co-founder Ken Langone, MasterCard CEO Ajay Banga, financiers Nelson Peltz and Dan Loeb and Aol CEO Tim Armstrong.


Former GE chairman Jack Welch arrived just as CNBC chairman Mark Hoffman began his remarks: “I love that Jack is here, because he started the whole thing,” said Hoffman. Welch was GE CEO when the conglomerate owned NBC and launched CNBC. Former NBC CEO and GE vice-chairman Bob Wright was also there, as were Shark Tank’s Kevin O’Leary and Daily Mail CEO Jon Steinberg.

Hoffman talked about the early days of the show, which featured Kernen, Mark Haines, David Faber and Maria Bartiromo–now with FBN–who would be the first live TV reporter permitted on the NYSE floor. Hoffman also announced that Kernen had signed a contract extension keeping the Squawk Box original at the network for the foreseeable future.

We also spotted CNBCers Sue HereraDavid Faber, Brian Sullivan, Jim Cramer, Carl Quintanilla and Rick Santelli in from Chicago; plus Michelle Caruso Cabrera, Kelly Evans, Scott Wapner, and Steve Liesman.


Jim Cramer, CNBC chairman Mark Hoffman and CBS Corp. chairman Les Moonves.