The 2018 TVNewser Bracket Challenge … Who’s In?

By A.J. Katz 

The Lost Remote newsletter brings you the the best in streaming news, from staffing changes to premiere dates to trailers—to the latest platform moves. Sign up today.

The TVNewser Bracket Challenge is back for its 10th year as the 2018 NCAA college basketball tournament tips off this afternoon.

That first year we had just 9 players, from 7 networks. ABC News’s Rick Klein was crowed the champ. He told us it was “among my prouder accomplishments.”

This year we have 46 participants representing 9 networks. The defending champ is CNBC evp Brian Steel, who is returning in 2018 to defend his title. Steel finished the tournament with a whopping 138 points, and was one of four participants who correctly predicted North Carolina would win it all in 2017.

We’ll keep you updated on who’s leading throughout the tourney.

Team Bloomberg

  • David Westin, anchor, Bloomberg Daybreak
  • Tom Keene, co-anchor, Bloomberg Surveillance
  • Scarlet Fu, co-anchor, Bloomberg Markets
  • Jason Kelly, New York bureau chief and executive editor for global television


  • Becky Quick, co-anchor, Squawk Box
  • Joe Kernen, co-anchor, Squawk Box
  • Andrew Ross Sorkin, co-anchor, Squawk Box
  • Sara Eisen, co-anchor, Power Lunch
  • Tyler Mathisen, co-anchor, Power Lunch
  • Brian Sullivan, anchor, Worldwide Exchange
  • Dominic Chu, markets reporter
  • Matthew Quayle, senior executive producer, Squawk Box
  • Jessica Golden, senior field producer
  • Jeffrey McCracken, managing editor for
  • Todd Bonin, senior exec. producer, Squawk on the Street, Squawk Alley
  • Sandy Cannold, executive producer, CNBC’s Power Lunch
  • Matt Rosoff, editorial director, CNBC Tech
  • Anne Tironi, producer
  • Brian Steel, evp of public relations

Team CNN / HLN

  • Ana Cabrera, anchor, CNN Newsroom
  • Dave Briggs, co-host, Early Start
  • Robin Meade, anchor, Morning Express
  • Coy Wire, sports anchor and correspondent
  • Bob Van Dillen, meteorologist, Morning Express
  • Lynn Smith, anchor, Weekend Express
  • Melody Taylor, executive producer, Weekend Express with Lynn Smith

Team Fox News

  • Harris Faulkner, host, Outnumbered Overtime
  • Kevin Corke, White House correspondent
  • Peter Doocy, on-air correspondent
  • Todd Piro, on-air correspondent, Fox & Friends

Team Fox Business

  • Liz Claman, anchor, Countdown to the Closing Bell
  • Gerri Willis, anchor and reporter
  • Blake Burman, Washington correspondent


  • Hallie Jackson, chief White House correspondent / anchor
  • Dylan Dreyer, meteorologist, Weekend Today
  • Willie Geist, host, Sunday Today with Willie Geist | Co-host, MSNBC’s Morning Joe.
  • Peter Alexander, national correspondent, NBC News
  • Kasie Hunt, Capitol Hill correspondent / host, MSNBC’s Kasie DC
  • Craig Melvin, host, Weekend Today / anchor, MSNBC
  • Janelle Rodriguez, svp, editorial

Team PBS

  • Judy Woodruff, anchor and managing editor, NewsHour
  • Lisa Desjardins, correspondent, NewsHour
  • Hari Sreenivasan, anchor and senior correspondent, NewsHour
  • Michael Rancillo, svp and general manager, NewsHour

Team Weather Channel

  • Alex Wilson, on-camera meteorologist and co-host, Weather Underground
  • Mike Bettes, on-camera meteorologist and co-host, Weather Underground

Team TVNewser/Adweek

  • A.J. Katz, co-editor, TVNewser | TV & media reporter, Adweek