Sevareid, Polk Honored With Stamps

By Alissa Krinsky 

Legendary CBS newsmen Eric Sevareid and George Polk will appear on postage stamps next year, the U.S. Postal Service has announced. The American Journalists set of honorees will also feature Martha Gellhorn, John Hersey, and Ruben Salazar.

Sevareid, one of “Murrow’s Boys”, rose to national prominence with his famed World War Two reporting. Polk, namesake of the George Polk Awards for journalism, was killed in 1948 while covering the Greek Civil War.

A CBS report states that the network “is the only (one) whose news people have been honored on U.S. stamps.” Fellow CBS legend Edward R. Murrow was honored with a stamp of his own in 1994.

The stamps will be issued in the spring, with a specific date still to be announced.