Norah O’Donnell Wins 2021 Sol Taishoff Award for Excellence in Broadcast Journalism

By A.J. Katz 

CBS Evening News anchor and managing editor Norah O’Donnell has won the 2021 Sol Taishoff Award for Excellence in Broadcast Journalism from the National Press Foundation.

NPF’s judges said O’Donnell “had excelled both at leading the network’s news coverage during the tumultuous year and in more than two decades of excellence in television news reporting.”

O’Donnell becomes the first CBS Newser to win the award since 60 Minutes (2009).

“I am very honored and humbled to receive the prestigious Taishoff Award by the National Press Foundation,” O’Donnell tells TVNewser. “This is a tribute to the hardworking CBS Evening News team, who worked tirelessly and under difficult circumstances during the pandemic. I’ve never been prouder to be a journalist and I’m immensely proud of this broadcast that continues to inform, inspire, and investigate the most important issues of our time.”

Previous Taishoff Award winners include CNN chief political correspondent Dana Bash (2019), NBC Nightly News anchor Lester Holt (2018), Fox News Special Report anchor Bret Baier (2017), ABC News chief foreign correspondent and This Week co-anchor Martha Raddatz (2016) her colleague GMA co-anchor and This Week moderator George Stephanopoulos (2014), and CNN The Situation Room anchor Wolf Blitzer (2013), Univision evening news anchor Jorge Ramos (2012), Fox News Sunday moderator Chris Wallace (2011), and NBC News’ chief foreign affairs correspondent/MSNBC Andrea Mitchell Reports host Andrea Mitchell (2010).

O’Donnell will accept the honor at National Press Foundation’s annual awards ceremony, which will be held in person in Washington D.C. on Feb. 9, 2022.