MLB Fans Asked to Vote for Hall of Fame Broadcaster

By Cam Martin 

Do you think Joe Morgan, Joe Buck or Tim McCarver are Hall of Fame-level broadcasters? If so, be sure to vote in the 9th annual Ford C. Frick Award contest, which will help winnow a field of 75 broadcasters down to one new member of the Baseball Hall of Fame.

Starting tomorrow and running through Sept. 30, fans can vote for their favorite broadcaster on the Hall of Fame’s Facebook page. The top three fan selections will be among the final 10 candidates for this year’s Frick Award, which will be selected by a 20-member board including last year’s winner Dave Van Horne, who currently broadcasts Marlins games, and the other living Frick Award recipients.

The 75 candidates include a pair of broadcasters from each Major League city, as well as numerous at-large candidates. Here is the full field:

• Arizona Diamondbacks: Greg Schulte, Daron Sutton
• Atlanta Braves: Skip Caray, Pete Van Wieren
• Baltimore Orioles: Joe Angel, Jim Hunter
• Boston Red Sox: Joe Castiglione, Jerry Remy
• Chicago Cubs: Pat Hughes, Ron Santo
• Chicago White Sox: Ed Farmer, Ken Harrelson
• Cincinnati Reds: Waite Hoyt, Joe Nuxhall
• Cleveland Indians: Mike Hegan, Herb Score
• Colorado Rockies: Jack Corrigan, Wayne Hagin
• Detroit Tigers: George Kell, Jim Price
• Florida Marlins: Tommy Hutton, Rick Waltz
• Houston Astros: Bill Brown, Larry Dierker
• Kansas City Royals: Ryan Lefebrve, Paul Splittorff
• Los Angeles Angels of Anaheim: Dick Enberg, Jose Mota
• Los Angeles Dodgers: Rick Monday, Ross Porter
• Milwaukee Brewers: Merle Harmon, Bill Schroeder
• Minnesota Twins: Dick Bremer, John Gordon
• New York Mets: Gary Cohen, Ralph Kiner
• New York Yankees: Michael Kay, John Sterling
• Oakland Athletics: Ray Fosse, Bill King
• Philadelphia Phillies: Richie Ashburn, Chris Wheeler
• Pittsburgh Pirates: Steve Blass, Lanny Frattare
• San Diego Padres: Ted Leitner, Eduardo Ortega
• San Francisco Giants: Mike Krukow, Duane Kuiper
• Seattle Mariners: Ron Fairly, Rick Rizzs
• St. Louis Cardinals: Al Hrabosky, Mike Shannon
• Tampa Bay Rays: Todd Kalas, Dewayne Staats
• Texas Rangers: Mark Holtz, Eric Nadel
• Toronto Blue Jays: Tom Cheek, Jerry Howarth
• Washington Nationals: Bob Carpenter, Charlie Slowes

• At-large candidates: Thom Brennaman, Joe Buck, Ken Coleman, Jacques Doucet, Ernie Johnson Sr., Ned Martin, Buck Martinez, Tim McCarver, Al Michaels, Joe Morgan, Amaury Pi-Gonzalez, Phil Rizzuto, John Rooney, Steve Stone, Gary Thorne

Where is Don Orsillo? At the very least he deserves an at-large bid.