Jeff Glor Shifts Focus to CBS’s 60 Minutes Sports

By A.J. Katz 

syracuse mirror awards

Credit: Syracuse University, S.I. Newhouse School of Public Communications

It was a very meta afternoon at New York’s legendary event venue Cipriani where the Newhouse School at Syracuse University put on  the 10th annual Mirror Awards, which honors the best media reporting about the media.

CBS News anchor and correspondent Jeff Glor emceed the event. An upstate New Yorker through and through, Glor received a different honor from the school late last year. He was thrilled be the ringleader for today’s event.

“It’s an honor to be here, truly a special honor because I’m a Syracuse graduate,” Glor told TVNewser. “This is a tremendous way for the school to recognize media reporting and media criticism. I think they (Newhouse) have built up a tremendous apparatus to recognize the best of the best.”

Glor also touched on his current work for CBS News. Ever since the network decided to go in a different direction in regard to its weekend evening news programming, Glor has taken on a variety of assignments. “I just got back from Africa for a story, and I will be filling in for Charlie Rose on Monday on CBS This Morning. I also have a number of pieces in production right now for 60 Minutes Sports, which is my main focus.”

In addition to Glor, CBS newsers were scattered across the legendary event venue.  CBS This Morning ep Ryan Kadro and CBS News president David Rhodes could also be found interacting with other members of the TV industry. Yes, TVNewsers were on stage and in the audience, but they also helped journalists win awards. The Mirror Award for Best Profile went to “Anchorman: The Legend of Don Lemon.” Mediabistro alum Taffy Brodesser-Akner penned the piece for GQ.

In addition, the Newhouse School honored Turner president David Levy (’84) with the Fred Dressler Leadership Award and Emblematic Group CEO Nonny de la Peña won the i-3 award for impact, innovation and influence. Levy’s award was presented by sportscaster Marv Albert (’63), while De la Peña’s award was presented by Christine Cattano, ep at Framestore VR Studio.

For a full list of the 2016 Mirror Award winners, click here.