Henry, Osgood Pick Up NPF Awards

By Brian 

The National Press Foundation held its annual awards dinner in D.C. Thursday night, Broadcasting & Cable reports.

CNN’s Ed Henry received the Everett Dirkson award for congressional reporting. “He drew applause with the assertion that ‘the American people own the news’ and that the First Amendment is ‘under assault.'”

CBS Sunday Morning host Charles Osgood received the Sol Taishoff Award for Excellence in Broadcast Journalism. “Osgood said that regardless of the medium, journalists touch lives and make a difference. Calling the profession a noble one, Osgood, moved by the contributions and stories of the award winners before him, said that when he took the award home, ‘I will not think of a single thing that I have done. I will think about what you have done.'”