CBS Wins Two Overseas Press Club Awards

By Brian 

CBS News has received two Overseas Press Club awards. This is “the first time that one broadcast network has received both television broadcast category awards in the same year,” CBS says.

The David Kaplan Award for best television spot news reporting from aboard went to the CBS Evening News for correspondent Richard Roth‘s coverage of the 2005 earthquake in Pakistan. “The producer was Andy Clarke, the cameraman was Nick Turner and the sound technician was James Brolan,” CBS said.

The Edward R. Murrow award for best television interpretation or documentary on international affairs went to 48 Hours Mystery for “Hostage: The Siege of Beslan,” a report by correspondent Peter Van Sant. “The piece was produced by executive producer Susan Zirinsky, senior producer Peter Schweitzer and producers Joe Halderman and Jonathan Sanders. The editors/producers were Michael McHugh and Michael Vele.”

The awards will be presented at a dinner on April 20. Here’s the OPC press release…