Broadcast Networks Gear Up For Iowa Caucus

By Merrill Knox 

It’s officially a new year, and although this political cycle may feel like it has gone on forever already, Tuesday marks the official kickoff to the 2012 presidential election.

As we told you earlier,  Bob Schieffer and Norah O’Donnell will co-anchor the CBS morning show from Des Moines on Monday and Tuesday. “The Early Show” will broadcast the its final week in Iowa, with Jim Axelrod and Nancy Cordes co-anchoring Wednesday through Friday. Scott Pelley will also anchor the Monday and Tuesday editions of “Evening News” from Des Moines, providing primetime updates as caucus results come in.

NBC also begins 2012 in the Hawkeye state, with David Gregory hosting “Meet the Press” from Des Moines this morning. Savannah Guthrie will report for “Today” from Iowa through Wednesday of this week, and Brian Williams will present special reports as the caucus results are tallied Tuesday night.

On ABC, senior political correspondent Jon Karl will be on the ground in Iowa for “This Week,” which is hosted by Jake Tapper from Washington, DC, today, as well as across other ABC platforms. Diane Sawyer and George Stephanopoulos will anchor special reports from New York Tuesday night.