ABC News Wins Polk Award

By Chris Ariens 

ABC’s senior foreign correspondent Jim Sciutto, producer Angus Hines, and field producer/cameraman Tom Murphy won a 2007 George Polk Award for Television Reporting. The ABC News team was recognized for “Myanmar Undercover,” a series of reports they filed from inside the repressive country — both during and after the regime’s brutal crackdown last fall.

Sciutto and his crew are on the road again, reporting this week from Pakistan on the outcome of the elections there.

The George Polk Award, established in 1949, is bestowed upon journalists by Long Island University. It memorializes the CBS News correspondent who was slain covering a civil war in Greece.