60 Minutes Wins Polk Reporting Award

By Alissa Krinsky 

The Lost Remote newsletter brings you the the best in streaming news, from staffing changes to premiere dates to trailers—to the latest platform moves. Sign up today.

The 2008 George Polk Awards have been announced, with the Television Reporting prize going to 60 Minutes correspondent Scott Pelley, producer Solly Granatstein, and co-producer Nicole Young.

The nod is for “The Wasteland,” a story about the illegal shipping to China of toxic electronic waste.

Also receiving a Polk Award is independent producer Stefan Forbes, for Documentary Reporting. His film, Boogie Man: The Lee Atwater Story, featured interviews with — and archival footage of — numerous TVNewsers.

The George Polk Awards will be presented at a Manhattan luncheon on April 16. The honors are bestowed by Long Island University, which founded the Awards in 1949 in memory of the legendary CBS newsman, who was killed in 1948 while covering the Greek Civil War.