2015 TVNewser Bracket Challenge: ‘Final Four’ Preview

By Brian Flood Comment

The field of 64 has been trimmed down to the Final Four, as CBS News’ Scott Blass is in the best position to win the 2015 TVNewser Bracket Challenge. However, Blass will need Wisconsin to pull off the upset of unbeaten Kentucky on Saturday night to win it all. Blass correctly selected Kentucky, Wisconsin and Duke to reach the Final Four, with Villanova being his only squad that didn’t reach Indianapolis.

The best bracket among newswer who picked heavily-favored Kentucky to win it all is Fox News anchor Ainsley Earhardt, who should win the TVNewser Challenge if Kentucky beats Duke in the championship game. Earhardt also sat atop the standings after the Sweet 16, but was overtaken by Blass during the Elite Eight.

CNN’s Andy Scholes, CNBC EP Sandy Cannold, “Squawk Box” co-anchor Becky Quick, CNN’s Bill Weir and Mary Anne Fox round out the group of newsers that still have a legitimate shot to win the challenge.

Notoble names including Jim Cramer, Don Lemon, Andrew Sorkin, Poppy Harlow, Erin Burnett, Charles Payne and Carol Costello are among the bottom half of the standings. Defending champion and CNN meteorologist Chad Myers is back in 34th place, while past winners FBN’s Liz MacDonald and CNBC’s Dominc Chu are pretty much eliminated.

Humble TVNewser co-editor Brian Flood (ahem, me) is in 12th place, correctly picked three-of-four teams to reach the Final Four, including the seventh-seeded Michigan State. Getting too cute with my Alma mater, Northeastern, essentially ruined any chance of winning.

The Final Four tips off on Saturday at 6:09pmET on TBS when No. 1 Duke faces off against No. 7 Michigan State. The action will continue at 8:49pmET when No. 1 Kentucky faces No. 1 Wisconsin. Jim Nantz, Grant Hill, Bill Raftery and Tracy Wolfson scheduled to call the games.

Check out the full standings below:

Final Four Standings

Final Four Standings