Fred Young to Be Honored by RTNDA

The Radio-Television News Directors Association has chosen Fred Young, senior vp of news for Hearst-Argyle Television, to receive the 2009 Paul White Award, the association’s highest honor. Young, who retires from Hearst-Argyle at the end of the year, will be honored on April 20, 2009 during the RTNDA’s annual convention in Las Vegas.  

Young is the first Paul White honoree since 1984 to have spent his career working exclusively in local news.

Since Hearst-Argyle Television’s formation in 1997, its news has been headed by Young. He currently oversees news operations in 26 markets plus the group’s Washington News Bureau. Under his leadership, Hearst-Argyle stations have won numerous awards for broadcast journalism excellence, including the Edward R. Murrow Award, the Peabody, the du Pont-Columbia Journalism Award, the National Headliner Award, the Emmy and the National Association of Broadcasters Service to America Award.

“Fred has long been one of my broadcasting heroes because his roots are here in Pennsylvania,” said KYW-AM’s Bill Roswell, who also serves as chair of RTNDA’s Paul White Award Nominating committee. “He remains a local legend because of his early leadership at WTEA-TV in Pittsburgh and his work with the Pennsylvania Association of Broadcasters.”

The Paul White Award was established in 1956 to honor the broadcast news pioneer who served as the first news director at CBS. Past recipients include Christiane Amanpour, Charles Gibson, Tom Brokaw, Dan Rather, Peter Jennings, Ed Bradley, Bob Schieffer, Ted Koppel, Pauline Frederick and Edward R. Murrow.

Recommended articles