Snapchat introduced Memories, a way for users to save their Snaps and Stories for later viewing and sharing.
Users can swipe up while on the camera screen to open their Memories. From there, users can browse all of their saved content, or they can search for specific Snaps by typing keywords.
When a user re-shares an old Snap (one originally taken more than one day ago), it will appear with a frame around it, so viewers will know they’re viewing previously captured content.
Finally, users will be able to move stored Snaps and Stories to a private ‘My Eyes Only’ section.
In a blog post, Snapchat provided more details about Memories:
Memories is backed up by Snapchat. We won’t backup any photos or videos from your Camera Roll, unless you use one to make a new Story or add it to My Eyes Only. In that case, we’ll back up only the photo or video that you used.
Snapchat said the Memories feature will roll out to users ‘selectively over the next month or so.’ Users will receive a chat from Team Snapchat when the feature is available for them to use.
Readers: What do you think of Snapchat’s Memories feature?