No One Wins Pulitzer for Breaking News Reporting

First time in award's history that no winner named

Build your own seamless purchase experience at Commerceweek, February 28-29. Gain strategies for consumer retention with immersive touchpoints, AI innovation and storytelling. Register now at 35% off.

The list of this year's Pulitzer Prize winners released Monday afternoon contained one big surprise: No one won the award for breaking news reporting.  

Prize administrator Sig Gissler said at the press conference at which the prizes were announced that this is the first time no award was given in this category, which is for breaking local news. He said, "No entry received the necessary majority for the prize."

The prize rewards a "distinguished example of local reporting of breaking news, with special emphasis on the speed and accuracy of the initial coverage, using any available journalistic tool, including text reporting, videos, databases, multimedia or interactive presentations or any combination of those formats, in print or online or both."



Subscribe today!

To Read the Full Story Become an Adweek+ Subscriber

View Subscription Options

Already a member? Sign in