New Facebook Privacy Policy Clarifies How Users Can Delete Their Accounts


For a long time now there has been an issue surrounding Facebook users’ ability to permanently delete their accounts. While users were able to remove their information from the site, it wasn’t extremely clear to users how they could delete their accounts. The new clarification is a result of a complaint filed by the Canadian Privacy Commission.

As stated by Facebook, the changes include “sections that further explain the privacy setting you can choose to make your content viewable by everyone, the difference between deactivating and deleting your account and the process of memorializing an account once we’ve received a report that the account holder is deceased.”

AW+

WORK SMARTER - LEARN, GROW AND BE INSPIRED.

Subscribe today!

To Read the Full Story Become an Adweek+ Subscriber

View Subscription Options

Already a member? Sign in