George Polk Award Winners Are a Reflection of an Intense 2016

David A. Fahrenthold, The International Consortium of Investigative Journalists, New York Times reporters and more pick up honors

In a period in which the mass of news is so dense it is hard to remember important work that came out a day ago, much less several months ago, journalism awards serve not only as a tool for recognition, but for memory as well.

While the work of David A. Fahrenthold, this year’s George Polk Award winner for political reporting, stays with us as he continues to cover the Trump administration, financial reporting winner ICIJ’s immense effort sorting and explaining the leaked financial documents detailing the offshore tax havens of the powerful, known as the Panama Papers, has had a shorter half life, thanks to the election cycle.



Subscribe today!

To Read the Full Story Become an Adweek+ Subscriber

View Subscription Options

Already a member? Sign in