White Eskimo Wins William Mills Prize

By Dianna Dilworth 

White Eskimo: Knud Rasmussen’s Fearless Journey into the Heart of the Arctic by Stephen Bown has won the 2016 William Mills Prize.

The prize is given by The Polar Libraries Colloquy to honor non-fiction books dedicated to polar topics. The book from Merloyd Lawrence Books, Da Capo Press is a biography of the explorer and ethnographer that began studying human culture in the Arctic.

Bown was honored with the award at a ceremony held on July 13, 2016, in Fairbanks, Alaska. Mammals of Ungava and Labrador: the 1882-1884 Fieldnotes of Lucien M. Turner together with Inuit and Innu Knowledge edited by Scott A. Heyes and Kristofer M. Helgen and Antarctica: Music, Sounds and Cultural Connections by Bernadette Hince, Rupert Summerson and Arnan Wiesel also received honorary mentions.