Triangle Award Winners Revealed

By Dianna Dilworth 

The 27th annual Triangle Awards, which celebrates the best lesbian, gay, bisexual, and transgender fiction, nonfiction, and poetry published in 2014, were revealed in New York last week.

“Mr. Loverman” by Bernardine Evaristo (Akashic Books) won The Ferro-Grumley Award for lesbian and gay fiction which honors the memory of authors Robert Ferro and Michael Grumley“For Today I Am a Boy” by Kim Fu (Houghton Mifflin Harcourt) took The Publishing Triangle’s newest literary award, the Edmund White Award for Debut Fiction.

“Ain’t Gonna Let Nobody Turn Me Around: 40 Years of Movement Building with Barbara Smith” by Barbara Smith (SUNY Press) won the Judy Grahn Award for Lesbian Nonfiction. “Gay Berlin: Birthplace of a Modern Identity” by Robert Beachy (Alfred A. Knopf) won the Randy Shilts Award for Gay Nonfiction.

“The New Testament” by Jericho Brown (Copper Canyon Press) won The Thom Gunn Award for Gay Poetry. “Last Psalm at Sea Level” by Meg Day (Barrow Street Press) won the Audre Lorde Award for Lesbian Poetry.