NYPL Reveals Cullman Center Fellows

By Dianna Dilworth 

The New York Public Library’s Dorothy and Lewis B. Cullman Center for Scholars and Writers has selected 15 fellows for the upcoming year.

The 18th group of fellows includes 15 independent scholars, academics and creative writers that were chosen from a pool of 310 applicants from 28 countries. The winners include:

  • Fiction writers Carys Davies, Angela Flournoy, Daniel Kehlmann, Salvatore Scibona, Akhil Sharma
  • Poet Sally Wen Mao
  • Nonfiction writers Jon Gertner, Jennifer Homans, George Packer, Jonathan Stevenson
  • Academics Nicole Fleetwood, Hilary Hallett, Saidiya Hartman, Natan Meir, Michael Reynolds

These fellows will be in residence at the Cullman Center from September 2016 through May 2017. Each person will get a stipend and a private office. They will also have access to the collections at the Stephen A. Schwarzman Building.