Free Samples of the 2015 Newbery Medal & Newbery Honor Winners

By Maryann Yin 

The CrossoverThe American Library Association has announced that The Crossover author Kwame Alexander is the winner of the prestigious John Newbery Medal.

This young adult novel features a story written in verse. Throughout his career, Alexander has written 18 books that range from a variety of genres including poetry, picture books, and nonfiction.

We’ve linked to free samples of the Newbery Medal-winning title and the Newbery Honor books below. Follow this link to access free samples from last year’s pool of Youth Media Award winners.

Free Samples of the ALA Youth Media Award Recognized Books

Newbery Medal Winner

The Crossover by Kwame Alexander

Newbery Honor Winners

Brown Girl Dreaming by Jacqueline Woodson

El Deafo by Cece Bell