Fernando del Paso Wins the 2015 Miguel de Cervantes Prize

By Maryann Yin Comment

University of AlcaláThe 2015 Miguel de Cervantes Prize has been awarded to author Fernando del Paso.

According to The Los Angeles Times, del Paso will receive $135,000.00 for this accomplishment. Throughout his career, he has written poetry, essays, and novels. His best-known book is called Palinuro of Mexico.

The New York Times reports that this prize is considered “the highest literary award in the Spanish-speaking world. The annual prize is awarded for an author’s entire body of work.” Past winners include Álvaro Mutis (2001), Juan Marsé (2008), and Juan Goytisolo (2014).