44 Governors’ Spouses and 4 Governors Confirmed as Reading Ambassadors

By Maryann Yin 

power up and read logo (GalleyCat)The organizers behind the 2015 Scholastic Summer Reading Challenge have recruited a special group of reading ambassadors.

44 governors’ spouses and 4 governors have signed on to serve in this position and inspire kids to “power up and read.” Below, we’ve posted the full list of participants.

Here’s more from the press release: “To jumpstart excitement about summer reading, these Governors and Governors’ Spouses will each deliver 500 new books donated by Scholastic to schools in their states. In addition, many of the Reading Ambassadors will host reading events with local children to kick off summer reading.”

Alabama – First Lady Dianne Bentley
Alaska – First Lady Donna Walker
Arizona – First Lady Angela Ducey
Arkansas – First Lady Susan Hutchinson
Colorado – Governor John Hickenlooper
Connecticut – First Lady Cathy Malloy
Delaware – First Lady Carla Markell
Florida – First Lady Ann Scott
Georgia – First Lady Sandra Deal
Guam – First Lady Christine Calvo
Hawaii – First Lady Dawn Amano-Ige
Idaho – First Lady Lori Otter
Illinois – First Lady Diana Rauner
Indiana – First Lady Karen Pence
Iowa – First Lady Christine Branstad
Kansas – First Lady Mary Brownback
Kentucky – First Lady Jane Beshear
Louisiana – First Lady Supriya Jindal
Maine – First Lady Ann LePage
Maryland – First Lady Yumi Hogan
Massachusetts – First Lady Lauren Baker
Michigan – First Lady Sue Snyder
Mississippi – First Lady Deborah Bryant
Missouri – First Lady Georganne Nixon
Montana – First Lady Lisa Bullock
Nebraska – First Lady Susanne Shore
Nevada – First Lady Kathleen Sandoval
New Hampshire – First Gentleman Thomas Hassan
New Jersey – First Lady Mary Pat Christie
New Mexico – First Gentleman Chuck Franco
North Carolina – First Lady Ann McCrory
North Dakota – First Lady Betsy Dalrymple
Northern Mariana Islands – Governor Eloy Inos
Ohio – First Lady Karen Kasich
Oklahoma – First Gentleman Wade Christensen
Pennsylvania – First Lady Frances Wolf
Rhode Island – First Gentleman Andy Moffit
South Carolina – First Gentleman Michael Haley
South Dakota – First Lady Linda Daugaard
Tennessee – First Lady Crissy Haslam
U.S. Virgin Islands – Governor Kenneth E. Mapp
Utah – First Lady Jeanette Herbert
Vermont – Governor Peter Shumlin
Virginia – First Lady Dorothy McAuliffe
Washington – First Lady Trudi Inslee
West Virginia – First Lady Joanne Tomblin
Wisconsin – First Lady Tonette Walker
Wyoming – First Lady Carol Mead