2016 National Book Award Winners Announced

By Maryann Yin 


The National Book Award winners for 2016 were revealed tonight.

Colson Whitehead won the Fiction award for The Underground Railroad published by Doubleday. Ibram X. Kendi won the Nonfiction award for Stamped from the Beginning published by Nation Books.

Daniel Borzutzky won the Poetry award for The Performance of Becoming Human published by Brooklyn Arts Press. John Lewis, Andrew Aydin, and Nate Powell won the Young People’s Literature award for March: Book Three published by Top Shelf Productions.

The video embedded below features a recording of the awards ceremony. Click here to view the full lists of finalists. What was your favorite book published in the year 2016?