2016 Dayton Literary Peace Prize Winners and Runner-ups Unveiled

By Maryann Yin 

Dayton Prize 200 (GalleyCat)The winners and runner-ups of the 2016 Dayton Literary Peace Prize have been revealed. The two winners will be given $10,000 each in prize money and the two runners-up will receive $1,000 each.

Susan Southard’s Nagasaki won in the nonfiction category while Viet Thanh Nguyen’s The Sympathizer won in the fiction category. Kennedy Odede and Jessica Posner Odede’s Find Me Unafraid was named the nonfiction runner-up while James Hannaham’s Delicious Foods was named the fiction runner-up.

Here’s more from the press release: “Inspired by the 1995 Dayton Peace Accords that ended the war in Bosnia, The Dayton Literary Peace Prize is the only international literary peace prize awarded in the United States. The Prize celebrates the power of literature to promote peace, social justice, and global understanding. This year’s winners will be honored at a gala ceremony hosted by award-winning journalist Nick Clooney in Dayton on November 20th.”