2016 Andrew Carnegie Medal Finalists Announced

By Maryann Yin 

ALA Logo Red (GalleyCat)The American Library Association (ALA) has unveiled the shortlists for the Andrew Carnegie Medals for Excellence in Fiction and Nonfiction. We’ve posted both list below.

The two winners will be revealed during an event at the ALA Midwinter Meeting & Exhibits which is scheduled to take place on January 22, 2017. Each winning author will receive $5,000 in prize money.

Here’s more from the press release: “All the finalists will be honored during a celebratory event at ALA’s 2017 Annual Conference in Chicago. The awards, established in 2012, recognize the best fiction and nonfiction books for adult readers published in the U.S. in the previous year and serve as a guide to help adults select quality reading material.”

Andrew Carnegie Medals for Excellence in Fiction

Moonglow by Michael Chabon (Harper)

Swing Time by Zadie Smith (Penguin Press)

The Underground Railroad by Colson Whitehead (Doubleday)

Andrew Carnegie Medals for Excellence in Nonfiction

The Firebrand and the First Lady: Portrait of a Friendship: Pauli Murray, Eleanor Roosevelt, and the Struggle for Social Justice by Patricia Bell-Scott (Alfred A. Knopf)

Evicted: Poverty and Profit in the American City by Matthew Desmond (Crown)

Blood at the Root: A Racial Cleansing in America by Patrick Phillips (W. W. Norton)