YouTube: Here’s How to Leave a Chat

Remove yourself from the conversation

YouTube users can leave chats they no longer want to participate in
YouTube

Did you know that YouTube allows you to leave chats you’re no longer interested in participating in? When you leave a chat, the messages you’ve sent will remain for other users in the chat to see, but you won’t be able to join the chat again unless you’re invited by another user. Our guide will show you how to leave a chat from within the YouTube mobile application.

Note: These screenshots were captured in the YouTube app on iOS. Also note, you can only leave a chat if you weren’t the one who created it. If you created the chat, the only way you can leave it is to delete the chat entirely.

Step 1: Tap “Inbox” at the bottom of the screen.

Step 2: Tap the chat you wish to leave. Note: If you’ve looked at your YouTube notifications recently, you may need to tap “Messages” at the top of the Inbox screen to see your chats.

Step 3: Tap the three dots in the top-right corner of the screen.

Step 4: Tap “Leave this chat.”