WTOP Racks Up Regional RTNDA Awards

RTNDA announced today the winners of its 2009 regional Edward R. Murrow Awards for excellence in electronic journalism and WTOP really racked up with 11 awards.

The regional winners will now be judged in the national competition and those awards will be presented at the RTNDA Dinner in October in NY.

Check out the complete list of winners here and RTNDA’s release after the jump…

RTNDA Announces 2009 Regional Edward R. Murrow Award Winners

WASHINGTON – The Radio-Television News Directors Association today announced the 2009 regional winners of the Edward R. Murrow Awards for excellence in electronic journalism.

RTNDA judges awarded 540 regional Edward R. Murrow Awards in 14 categories, including Overall Excellence, Breaking News, Investigative Reporting, and Website. The Murrow Awards reward the excellence that Edward R. Murrow made a standard for the electronic news profession.

Several stations have been honored with multiple Murrows. WTOP-AM in Washington garnered 11 awards, the most given to any news organization. KARE-TV in Minneapolis received 10 Murrows, the most awarded to a large market television station. Many of the entries focused on the historic presidential race and the gloomy economy.

For the first time, video that appeared exclusively online was accepted as an entry. In another first, all entries for the 2009 Edward R. Murrow Awards were digitally uploaded and judged online.

Among the radio and television stations recognized with the most awards:

WTOP-FM, Washington (11)
KARE-TV, Minneapolis (10)
WBUR-FM, Boston (10)
KIRO-AM, Seattle (9)
KUSA-TV, Denver (8)
News 12 Connecticut, Norwalk, CT (6)

A complete list of winners is available here, www.rtnda.org.

Regional winners automatically become eligible for the national awards competition, which will be judged in early June. The national Edward R. Murrow Awards will be presented October 12 at the RTNDA Awards Dinner in New York.

RTNDA has been honoring outstanding achievements in electronic journalism with the Murrow Awards since 1971. Radio, television and online news managers from markets across the country judged the entries in March.

RTNDA is the world’s largest professional organization devoted exclusively to electronic journalism. RTNDA represents local and network news professionals in broadcasting, cable and other electronic media in more than 30 countries.

# # #