Web Voters Award Sklar Two Mirror Award People’s Choice Prizes

mirror.pngFormer Huffington Post contributor Rachel Sklar nabbed two People’s Choice awards following online voting for Mirror Award nominees.

2009 marks the third year that Syracuse University’s S.I. Newhouse School of Public Communications has presented its Mirror Awards, which honor media reporters. The finalists were first announced last month and members of the public and fellow journalists were asked to view each finalist’s work online and vote for a People’s Choice winner. The six winners of the online balloting were revealed today.

Sklar, who is current working for Abrams Research and The Daily Beast, won People’s Choice prizes for best commentary in digital media and best single article in digital media for her piece “The NYT‘s Selective, Misleading Pentagon Story.”

Other winners included Fast Company‘s Clive Thompson for best single article in traditional media, Mark Bowden of The Atlantic for best profile in traditional media and Broadcasting & Cable‘s Ben Grossman for best commentary in traditional media.

The real Mirror Award winners, selected by a jury of journalists and journalism educators, will be announced at a luncheon on June 9. Sklar’s former boss, Arianna Huffington, is also being honored with the Fred Dressler Lifetime Achievement Award, and the Obama for America New Media Department/Blue State Digital will be receiving the i-3 award for impact, innovation and influence.

A full release about the People’s Choice winners after the jump

Earlier: Mirror, Mirror: Big Fish Dominate Media Beat Awards

Mirror Awards “People’s Choice” Winners Announced

Syracuse University’s S.I. Newhouse School of Public Communications today announced the People’s Choice winners in the third annual Mirror Awards competition honoring excellence in media industry reporting.

Of 170 entries in this year’s competition, 29 finalists were chosen in six categories. Fellow journalists and members of public were invited to view the finalists online and vote for their favorites in each category.

People’s Choice winners are:

Best Single Article, Traditional Media

Clive Thompson, “Is the Tipping Point Toast?” (Fast Company)

Best Single Article, Digital Media

Rachel Sklar, “The NYT’s Selective, Misleading Pentagon Story” (The Huffington Post)

Best Profile, Traditional Media

Mark Bowden, “The Angriest Man in Television” (The Atlantic)

Best Commentary, Traditional Media

Ben Grossman (Broadcasting & Cable)

Best Commentary, Digital Media

Rachel Sklar (The Huffington Post)

Best In-depth Piece, Traditional Media

On the Media, “Brand China” (WNYC New York Public Radio)

A group of journalists and journalism educators will decide the Mirror Award winners, who will be recognized at a luncheon ceremony on Tuesday, June 9, at 11:45 a.m. at the Harmonie Club in New York City.

The Mirror Awards, established by the Newhouse School in 2006, honor the reporters, editors and teams of writers who hold a mirror to their own industry for the public’s benefit. Honorees are recognized for news judgment and command of craft in reporting, analysis and commentary on developments in the media industry and its role in our economy, culture and democracy.