Walter Bernstein To Recieve WGAE’s Evelyn F. Burkey Award


Tomorrow at the Hudson Theater Walter Bernstein will receive the Writers Guild of America, East’s (WGAE) Evelyn F. Burkey Award. The Brooklyn-born screenwriter has been active for more than 60 years. His credits include Fail Safe, The Money Trap, The Betsy and Semi-Tough. Bernstein is also an uncredited writer for The Magnificent Seven. From the Writer’s Guild of America East:

”The Evelyn F. Burkey Award was established in 1978 to honor Evelyn F. Burkey, who supported and helped writers. Burkey worked in the creation of the Writers Guild of America, East in 1953 as the union of film, television and radio writers, independent of precursor organizations. She was executive director of the WGAE until her retirement in 1972. The Burkey Award, created in her honor, continues her mission by recognizing one ‘whose contributions have brought honor and dignity to writers everywhere.’ Past recipients of the Burkey Award include: 2007 recipient Joan Didion … The Museum of Television & Radio … Tom Fontana, Vaclav HavelArt BuchwaldAndy Rooney.”

Bernstein, 87, was blacklisted by the House Un-American Committee in 1951.

(image via Darryl Bush/SFGate)