This Is Why He’s Chuck Norris…



At first, we read this email subject line — “The First 100 Hours: CNN’s Wolf Blitzer to Anchor Special Edition of The Situation Room on Jan. 4” — and thought: “This moment was destined to arrive. Wolf Blitzer will stave off sleep and anchor all of the Democrats’ first 100 hours in power.

Naturally, that’s not the case. After the jump, take a look at the real Situation Room coverage.

From the release:

    As part of CNN’s coverage of the first 100 hours of the Democratic-controlled 110th Congress, Wolf Blitzer will anchor “Power Shift: Democrats Take Control.” This special edition of The Situation Room begins Thursday, Jan. 4, at 11:45 a.m. (ET) and will include live footage of the swearing-in ceremony of new members of Congress and Nancy Pelosi, the first female Speaker of the House in U.S. history.

    The program will also provide in-depth discussion about the new congressional leadership, which has committed to achieving specific legislative goals in its first 100 hours. CNN’s special coverage will feature observations and analysis from top guests and the network’s correspondents and contributors who were instrumental in CNN’s leading Election Night coverage on Nov. 7, 2007.

    Blitzer will be joined by CNN anchor Lou Dobbs, senior political correspondent Candy Crowley, senior political analyst Jeff Greenfield, chief national correspondent John King, senior political analyst Bill Schneider, congressional correspondents Dana Bash and Andrea Koppel, White House correspondent Suzanne Malveaux, chief medical correspondent Dr. Sanjay Gupta, correspondent Tom Foreman, business correspondent Ali Velshi, commentator Jack Cafferty and contributors Paul Begala, former U.S. Rep. J.C. Watts and Donna Brazile. Also on hand to provide unique insights during both the special coverage and regular edition of The Situation Room will be Sen. Joseph Biden (D-Del.), Sen. Mel Martinez (R-Fla.), former Lt. Gov. Michael Steele (R-Md.), Sen.-elect Jim Webb (D-Va.), Rep. John Murtha (D-Penn.), and former Rep. Harold Ford (D-Tenn.).

    The special will run through 2:30 p.m. and political coverage will continue on the regular edition of The Situation Room from 4 p.m. to 6 p.m. and 7 p.m. to 8 p.m. Eric Sherling serves as executive producer. In addition to CNN’s live coverage, the most updated news on the ceremony and Congress can be found at CNN’s Political Ticker: