The Nominees are in for the First Annual YouTube Music Awards

YouTube has selected the nominees based on likes, shares, comments, views and other engagement data, and now it's time for the fans to vote.

When YouTube launched in 2005, it was just a portal for people to share videos. Back then, MTV was still trying to pretend it was music television. Here we are almost 10 years later and YouTube has become much more than just a video portal; YouTube has become a force in the music industry, a place to catch the latest music videos and discover new music as well.

So it follows that YouTube would host its own music awards show on November 3. The nominations were determined based on likes, shares, comments, views and other engagement data gathered over the last year of YouTube. Now it’s up to the YouTube audience to decide the winners in six categories:

  • Video of the year
  • Artist of the year
  • Response of the year
  • YouTube Phenomenon
  • YouTube Breakthrough
  • Innovation of the year

Votes are cast by social media sharing of the nomination videos on the official YTMA channel. The nomination videos can also be found by searching YTMA and sharing the video you like most. Every share counts as a vote, including when a video is reshared by someone in your network.

While YouTube has been a place for new artists to break, it should come as no surprise that mainstream artists such as Rihanna and Lady Gaga are up for awards. Riri is nominated in two categories — Artist of the Year and YouTube Phenomenon. Gaga’s Applause video is nominated for Video of the Year. Other nominees include the Epic Rap Battles of History: Obama vs Mitt Romney for Video of the Year, Bat for Lashes Lilies for Innovation of the Year and Macklemore for Breakthrough of the Year.

The winners will be announced at a live awards ceremony in New York, hosted by comedian Reggie Watts, with other live events leading up to the big show. The event kicks off from Seoul, Rio, Tokyo, Moscow and London at 5:00 am Eastern.