The Niemans Are Coming!

The 2005-2006 Nieman Fellows have been officially announced. Including the previously known Margaret Kriz from D.C.’s own National Journal, they are:


  • Chris Cobler, editor, Greeley (Colo.) Tribune
  • Mary C. Curtis, executive features editor/columnist, The Charlotte Observer
  • Dexter Filkins, Baghdad correspondent, The New York Times
  • Cathy Grimes, education reporter, Walla Walla (Wash.) Union-Bulletin
  • David Heath, investigative reporter, The Seattle Times
  • Jacob Levenson, freelance reporter, Brooklyn, N.Y.
  • Jon Palfreman, independent documentary film producer, Palfreman Film Group
  • Nancy San Martin, world reporter, The Miami Herald
  • Charles Sennott, London bureau chief, The Boston Globe
  • Jeb Sharp, reporter/correspondent, Public Radio International’s “The World”
  • Brent Walth, senior reporter, The Oregonian