Taishoff Award Goes To Gibson

The National Press Foundation has named ABC News’ Charles Gibson the recipient of its 2008 Sol Taishoff Award for Distinguished Contributions to Broadcast Journalism.

The full release after the jump…

    The award will be presented at NPF’s 26th annual awards dinner, taking place February 10, 2009 at the Hilton Washington Hotel.

    Gibson is the anchor of ABC’s flagship broadcast “ABC’s World News,” as well as the network’s principal anchor for breaking news, election coverage and special events. He is one of the most distinguished journalists in television with more than 40 years’ experience, 33 of those at ABC News.

    The judges cited his professionalism and judgment in dealing with breaking news stories like the shootings at Virginia Tech and analytical stories involving the U.S. economy.

    The National Press Foundation, a 501-c-3, provides free educational opportunities to journalists in the U.S. and internationally. The annual awards dinner is its largest source of unrestricted revenue. More than 1,000 attend the dinner, which honors accomplishment across all journalism platforms.

    The Taishoff award is one of the most important awards for an active American broadcaster. Previous awardees have included Bob Schieffer, Tim Russert, Dan Rather, Gwen Ifill and Gordon Peterson. The award dates back to 1983 and was the first major award issued by the 33-year old foundation.