St. Louis Arch Competition Selects Its Jury

In early December, we announced, to apparently great applause, the city of St. Louis and the National Park Service had teamed together to finally try and create a more accessible area surrounding the iconic, Eero Saarinen-designed Gateway Arch. The call for entries window doesn’t close for another few weeks, and a winner won’t be selected until October, but the Framing a Modern Masterpiece competition has just released its list of judges (PDF) who will be selecting what gets built (or, rather, the idyllic decision, before contract disputes, financial shortages, and general bureaucracy begin to plague the project, as they always do with things like this). It’s a great, who’s-who list of big shots, including Cara McCarty of the Cooper-Hewitt and critic Robert Campbell, so that’s a good sign that everyone is taking this pretty dang seriously. Here’s the whole list:

Robert Campbell, architecture critic at the Boston Globe and contributing editor for
Architectural Record

Gerald Early, Merle Kling Professor of Modern Letters and Director of the African and Afro- American Studies at Washington University in St. Louis

Denis P. Galvin, former Deputy Director of the National Park Service

Alex Krieger, founding principal of Chan Krieger Sieniewicz, architecture and urban design firm and professor at the Harvard School of Design, Cambridge, Mass.

David C. Leland, an urban strategist and managing director of the Leland Consulting Group, Portland, Ore.2

Cara McCarty, curator of the Smithsonian’s Cooper-Hewitt National Design Museum, New York City

Laurie D. Olin, partner and landscape architect of the OLIN Studio, Philadelphia

Carol Ross Barney, founder and Principal of Ross Barney Architects, Chicago