SPSA Elects New Leadership

From the release:

    Gregory Keeley, Communications Director for U.S. Sen. John Barrasso, R-Wyo., was today named President of the United States Senate Press Secretaries Association (SPSA), a bipartisan group of Senate communications staff. The organization hosts regular meetings with notable guest speakers, professional development programs and social events and coordinates meetings with leaders of major news organizations in order to foster improved relationships and open dialogue between the Senate and the press.

    Keeley is one of nine members elected to a one-year term on the SPSA’s equally divided Board of Directors:

    Stephanie Allen, Press Secretary for Sen. Mary Landrieu, D-La.
    Jesse Broder Van Dyke, Press Secretary for Sen. Daniel Akaka, D-Hawaii
    Ashley Glacel, Press Secretary for the Aging Committee / Sen. Herb Kohl, D-Wisc.
    Gregory Keeley, Communications Director for Sen. John Barrasso, R-Wyo.
    Joanna Kuebler, Communications Director for Sen. Sherrod Brown,
    Margaret McPhillips, Press Secretary for Sen. Thad Cochran,
    Sarah Stevenson, Deputy Press Secretary for Sen. Robert Bennett,
    Lisa Wink, Communications Director for the Senate Chaplain (No
    Party Affiliation)
    Steve Wymer, Communications Director for Sen. Wayne Allard.

    Following the organization’s tradition to alternate the party affiliation of its president, Keeley succeeds outgoing SPSA President Adam Sharp, Communications Director for U.S. Sen. Mary Landrieu, D-La. Board Member-elect Joanna Kuebler also served on the outgoing 2007-2008 board.