Snapchat: Here’s How to Move a Snap to My Eyes Only

Make content private

Did you know that Snapchat allows you to move Snaps from the standard Memories area into a private section called My Eyes Only? When you move a Snap into My Eyes Only, you can feel free to let someone else browse your Memories section, without worrying about them seeing content that you want to keep private. Our guide will show you how to move a Snap to the My Eyes Only section.

Note: These screenshots were captured in the Snapchat application on iOS.

Step 1: On the Snapchat camera screen, tap the Memories icon at the bottom of the screen. Note: You can also swipe up from the bottom of the camera screen to open the Memories area.

Step 2: Tap and hold on the Snap you wish to move to My Eyes Only.

Step 3: Tap “My Eyes Only.” Note: If this is the first time you’ve moved content into My Eyes Only, you’ll need to go through a setup process. Please refer to the instructions below to setup your My Eyes Only area.

Step 4: Tap “Move” on the confirmation window that appears to finish moving the Snap to My Eyes Only.

Setting Up Your My Eyes Only Area

After you’ve completed Step 3 above, you’ll be asked to setup your My Eyes Only area. Follow these steps to do just that.

Step 1: Tap “Quick Setup.”

Step 2: Type a four-digit passcode that you’ll be able to remember. Note: Tap “Use Passphrase” at the bottom of the screen if you’d rather create an actual password, rather than use a four-digit passcode to protect your My Eyes Only area.

Step 3: Type the same four-digit passcode to confirm it.

Step 4: Tap the circle to the left of the “I understand …” text to confirm that you understand how this system works (that if you forget your passcode, Snapchat won’t be able to recover your passcode or the Snaps in your My Eyes Only area).

Step 5: Tap “Continue.”

Step 6: Tap “Finish.”