Second Thoughts? Facebook Messenger Users Now Have 10 Minutes to Delete Messages

Remove for Everyone is available for iOS and Android globally

The new Remove for Everyone feature on Facebook Messenger
Facebook

Many people grew up with the five-second rule pertaining to food that drops on the floor. Facebook Messenger introduced the 10-minute rule Tuesday.

The Remove for Everyone feature Messenger debuted for iOS and Android users in Poland, Bolivia, Colombia and Lithuania last November is now available globally on both operating systems.

Messages to either individual people or groups can be deleted within 10 minutes after they are sent by tapping on them and choosing Remove for Everyone, after which the message will be replaced by text indicating that it was removed.

Facebook said when the feature first surfaced last November that it would retain messages that are removed “for a short period of time” in order to review them for policy violations in the event that those messages are reported prior to deletion.

Vice president of Messenger Stan Chudnovsky expanded on that thought, telling Josh Constine of TechCrunch last November, “We need to make sure that we don’t open up any new venues for bullying. We need to make sure people aren’t sending you bad messages and then removing them, because if you report them and the messages aren’t there, we can’t do anything.”

Product manager Anna Iskikian reminded Messenger users in a blog post that conversations that violate Facebook’s community standards can be reported, as always.